Daily News

United Way of Pioneer Valley Elects New Board Officers

AGAWAM — The United Way of Pioneer Valley held its 93rd annual meeting and celebration on June 17 to elect new board members and honor donors, community partners, volunteers, corporate partners, and employee campaign managers.

Bennet Markens, president and CEO of the Markens Group Inc., was elected chairman of the board. Jennifer Endicott, chief strategy officer and senior vice president of Baystate Health, was elected vice chair. Brian Smith Sr., vice president and treasurer of People’s United Bank, remains as treasurer, and Susan Mielnikowski, attorney with Cooley, Shrair, P.C., remains as board clerk.

Denis Gagnon Jr., vice president of Excel Dryer Inc., and Michael Mathis, President of MGM Springfield, were elected as new board members for a three-year term. Gagnon was also named chairman of the Resource Development Council, the volunteer fund-raising arm of the United Way. Stephen Spelman, attorney at Egan, Flanagan and Cohen, P.C., was named vice chair of the council.