Daily News

Robert Martin Named to Westfield State Board of Trustees

WESTFIELD — Westfield State University President Elizabeth Preston announced that Robert Martin has been named the newest member of the Westfield State University board of trustees. Martin was appointed to the board by Gov. Deval Patrick and sworn in on Aug. 8.

“I’m extremely grateful that Bob has agreed to rejoin the Westfield State community. His extensive experience with public higher education and his familiarity with Westfield State and the city will further strengthen our board in important ways,” said Preston.

Martin most recently served as interim president of Framingham State University, where he was responsible for overseeing a $100 million operating budget and providing strategic planning and overall direction for academic programs, enrollment, student life, development, and governmental and community relations. Prior to his appointment as interim president, he served as Framingham State’s vice president for Academic Affairs and as a visiting lecturer.

He joined Framingham after 16 years at Westfield State, where he served in a variety of positions, including dean of Undergraduate Studies and associate vice president for Academic Affairs. Martin is a member of the American Assoc. of State Colleges and Universities, the American Conference of Academic Deans, and the College Board.

This is not his first time serving as a trustee for an organization. He has been a member of the board of trustees for the Danforth Art Museum since 2006 and currently serves as president of the board. Martin’s community-service efforts include current membership on the board of directors for the Chief’s Memorial Scholarship Fund, and former roles as corporator at the Westfield Athenaeum, member of the Downtown Revitalization Committee of the Community Development Corp. in Westfield, and member of the Hospital Ethics Committee at Noble Hospital. He recently presented “Student Success: Moving the Needle on Graduation Rates” at the plenary session of the New England Regional Assembly of the College Board. He earned his bachelor’s degree in psychology from Wesleyan University and his master’s and Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of Rochester.

Comprised of 11 members, the WSU board of trustees is appointed by the governor of the Commonwealth. Each member is appointed for a five-year term, with the possibility of one additional term of five years. Current trustees include Terrell Hill, principal, High School Inc.; Steven Marcus, president and CEO of New England Geriatrics; Luis Perez, former First Justice, Worcester Juvenile Court; Kevin Queenin, Specialty Bolt & Screw Inc.; Elizabeth Scheibel (chair), former Northwestern District Attorney; James Hagan, president of Westfield Bank; and student trustee Joshua Frank. There are currently three vacancies.

Related Posts

buy ivermectin for humans buy ivermectin online buy generic cialis buy cialis