40 Under 40 Cover Story The Class of 2013

Introducing the Class 2013

The Young Business and Community Leaders of Western Massachusetts

In 2007, BusinessWest introduced a new recognition program called 40 Under Forty. It was intended as a vehicle for showcasing young talent in the four counties of Western Mass. and, in turn, inspire others to reach higher and do more in their community.
Six years later, it has accomplished all that and much more. The program has become a brand, the awards gala has become one of the most anticipated events of the year, and the 40 Under Forty plaque that sits on one’s desk has become both a coveted prize and symbol of excellence, recognized by all.
On June 20 at the Log Cabin Banquet & Meeting House in Holyoke, 40 more plaques will be handed out, to members of a class that is both distinguished and diverse. It includes bankers, lawyers, and accountants, but also a Holyoke city councilor, a contractor who specializes in blitz building, and Springfield’s senior project manager. And it represents virtually every business sector, from healthcare to education; from technology to the nonprofit realm.
With that, we introduce the Class of 2013 with words (enough to explain why they’re an honoree) and pictures that tell a big part of each story, whether the winner is captured with his or her children, dog, company mascot, or even a giant corpuscle. The stories are all different, but the common denominator is that these young individuals possess that most important of qualities: leadership.

Sponsored by:
2013 40 Under Forty Winners:

Timothy Allen
Meaghan Arena
Adrian Bailey Dion
Jason Barroso
Elizabeth Beaudry
Melyssa Brown
Kam Capoccia
Jeremy Casey
Tommy Cosenzi
Erin Couture
Geoffrey Croteau
William Davila
Ralph DiVito Jr.
Shaun Dwyer
Erin Fontaine Brunelle
William Gagnon
Allison Garriss
Annamarie Golden
Lina Alexandra Hogan
Samalid Hogan
Xiaolei Hua
Mark Jardim
Danny Kates
Jeremy Leap
Danielle Letourneau-Therrien
Isaac Mass
Kelvin Molina
Brenna Murphy McGee
Vanessa Pabon
John Pantera
Justin Pelis
Shonda Pettiford
Shannon Reichelt
N. Andrew Robb
Stacy Robison
Rachel Romano
Jennifer Root
Jonathan Stolpinski
Walter Tomala Jr.
Mark Zatyrka


Meet the Judges — Click Here

Photography for this special section by Denise Smith Photography